For memory’s sake

A place to remember

Posted on: May 29, 2009

I have to say I love you, and the more I’m with you, the greater my love for you, Stockholm.

When I first came, you were cold, freezingly cold. The kind of cold I’ve never ever experienced for my last 23 years. Nonetheless, I was so excited seeing you snow, white all over. However, one, two, three months over and sunlight still not visited you, I was kind of sick of snow and cold, I wanted to go out with one layer of clothes instead of 3 or 4, I wanted to get rid of my heavy-dose moisturizer, I wanted to leave my socks behind when going out, I wanted to expose my legs. Still, you kept blowing strong wind and snowing.

The long-waited spring came, just to see it got rain whenever I had a plan to go out and sunny whenever I’m sick of being out.

It was windy when I didn’t wear jacket and hot when I carried it along. But you know what, I realize that it’s part of you that I would also love. Regardless of how people bad mouth about your weather, I know such kind of weather is uniquely Stockholm, since I’m used to you now.

I used to think REA is a clothes brand, but thanks god, that did not last long, only 1 week after coming to you, I knew it meant SALE.

Swedish are shy, or at least I was told so. But no, they drink, they sing, they f***, they’re not shy. All the more I like them, friendly and charming. The most welcoming people amongst all European countries I’ve been to.

Green, I love you for that. Greenery never fails to give me a peaceful feeling, and Stockholm has lots of that. I was amazed seeing how you changed from winter to spring, from moody you became bright and fresh in a matter of days, and I could see your improvement every day.

You know I like dandelion and you gave me lots of that. No, “lots” is an understatement. Fields of dandelion. They’re everwhere, on the pavement, behind my block, in the forest, at the lake, in school, next to the river. I took some seeds, hopefully to grow in VN.

I don’t like your price, so cutting-throat. When I came, I only dare to eat out several times, after that I had to resort to instant noodle, before figuring out where to get groceries. Anyway, thanks to you that I know how to make a proper meal on my own.

Many say Stockholm is boring. True, for those happening and keep rolling around, you don’t have much to offer them. By eliminating these people, you make yourself distinctive with calm environment. You make me want to sense and absorb you slowly by slowly rather than jumping around and find “Stockholm is not special”.

I should have stayed with you for another half year to see how you dress for summer and autumn (if it’s not for another meaningful reason). I guess you will be great when you get warmer.

Soft, gentle, charming, welcoming and lovely. Farewell, Stockholm.

DSCF0817DSCF0885

2 Responses to "A place to remember"

Goodbye, Stockholm. And say hello to a new phase of life 😛

hey! are you back in singapore? didn’t see you in hall…

Leave a comment


  • None
  • renee garrison: How can I purchase a print of piggybackride?
  • Sharrin Mass Miller: Our group is looking forward to a tour of your Gallery in Midway on Wednesday January 12th arranged by Sunny Reinhold (435) 671-6996 I am preparing a
  • passer-by: hi danthuy, i will be taking this module sf2950 in kth when i go for my exchange next yr..is the module v hard? from the course description, it sounds

Categories