For memory’s sake

Geneva-Amsterdam-Milan

Posted on: April 17, 2009

 

Easter break, we booked for a trip of 9 days to Geneva, Amsterdam and Milan. It was tiring yet memorable and nice.

Geneva was expected to be cold and rainy, yet this lovely city welcomed us with wonderful weather, sunny and dry. Known as a rich country, Switzerland offers free public transport for visitors throughout their stays in Geneva (I’m not sure about other parts of Switzerland though), which saved us, poor students, a significant amount. Coming from a cold land like Stockholm, the whole gang was so excited seeing sun and bathing in the weather of  15 celcius degree. Great! Upon arrival at the hostel, we headed for a walk around the area. We saw SEA! Amazing is an understatement. So fresh, so cool, so… I don’t know, just nice… After having fun by the beach, we looked for a place to eat, people here are rich (most of cars on the street are of expensive brands like ferrari, bmw,…), no wonder all meals cost at least 15euros, and I paid 30 for that dinner with steak and cheese fondue, which tasted very weird. Imagine when you put cheese, champange, mushroom together and eat with bread…erhh…

p4070028

p4070063The following day was the main sightseeing time, we tried to cover as many places as possible, which included the UN building, old town and some monuments. Speaking of old town, this was where I got my dreaming Swiss chocolate. Got myself some homemade chocolate, especially Confiseur Läderach, mem mem…

Leaving Geneva, next stop was Amsterdam. The guys were so eager to see Red light district, and so did I. It is interesting to see how prostitution and drug are legally sold here. Each prostitute stands at one glass window, seducing passing-by visitors. To be honest, most of them were not as pretty and sexy as I thought, you know, fat accumulates at certain areas where it is not welcomed; maybe all the good ones were on business, only the left over were available. The second day, as usual, was the sightseeing time. We spent one full day strolling the city, and not forget trying drug at the mushroom store. Some folks got high after a small dose. Anyway, my main agenda for Amsterdam is flowers. Yes! everywhere I go, I see flowers, especially tulips. The third day was reserved for Keukenhof, the world-famous flower garden. I was flooded with flowers, and for the first time in my life, I saw many breeds of flower which I could only either dream of or see on TV. I love it!

dscf9154

Beautiful neighborhood. dscf9436The windmill.dscf9223

dscf9492F-L-O-W-E-R-S dscf9500dscf9557

The final destination is Milan, the fashion city. Sadly, it was easter period and all shops were closed throughout our time their. Hence, the fashion trip was amended to church and building trip. It’s still nice nonetheless, since I’m not a shopping person, but rather walking around the city and get a touch on it. Thanks to the closing of the shops, I got to experience more of Italian street, to feel their relaxing and romantic lifestyle, with music on small lanes, coffee shop on the street. So relaxing… Btw, there’re so many elderly around, not good looking girls or guys. dscf9599

The church. dscf9650Dandelion, yeah! dscf9660The modern art gallery. dscf97951The castle-outside. dscf9798The castle-inside. dscf9807

The last day of the trip saw me staying at the hostel due to my sickness. Sob sob…

Packing and flying back to Stockholm, I miss my bed, my room, my laptop and my boyfriend’s face. Stockholm is turning to spring now, green all over. I’m back!

2 Responses to "Geneva-Amsterdam-Milan"

Back in the castle of Forskarbacken, Stockholm to see your prince and soon, to the castle of S**G*P*** hehe

đi sửa bài thầy cũng kể tùm lum thứ nghe mà ham quá … ^^

Leave a comment


  • None
  • renee garrison: How can I purchase a print of piggybackride?
  • Sharrin Mass Miller: Our group is looking forward to a tour of your Gallery in Midway on Wednesday January 12th arranged by Sunny Reinhold (435) 671-6996 I am preparing a
  • passer-by: hi danthuy, i will be taking this module sf2950 in kth when i go for my exchange next yr..is the module v hard? from the course description, it sounds

Categories