For memory’s sake

The first day of travelling

Posted on: January 5, 2009

Finally I’ve started my travel plan, pretty productive in the sense that I got to places I like. Today’s destination is Gamla Stan (Old Town), there are more sites to see than expected, hence by sun down, I could only visit the church and the Royal Palace. Definitely I’ll go back there another time.

There’s more snow today.

dscf4398

Traditional Christmas decoration, which can be easily found at any windows.

dscf4405

Wonder how they can survive standing there in this kind of weather, these guards are generally friendly and helpful.

dscf4455

Gamla Stan, symbol of the area.

dscf4449

  Lunch at a dungeon, it’s quite cozy ironically.

dscf4453

 The palace is fantastic, with real crowns, over 300 year-old structure, but too bad no camara is allowed. Can have a look at the facade.

dscf4457dscf4459

3 Responses to "The first day of travelling"

Nice trip there! How surprising that prison food is better than a typical student food…:P

Loved the buildings back then. The idea of ‘expiry date’ was non-existent; all the builders thought of was to build it to last as long as possible. Unlike today’s buildings which are often built to last xx years…sadly, in SG, with SERS, you often outlive every other building around you.

The buildings are super coool!!! Do like the facades 🙂 I gotta go there one day…heee…

Lunch in a dungeon. Sounds fascinating. Reminds me of King Arthur stories and Knights and Lords and Kings and Queens…what a wonderful experience!!

ps: honest, the boots are cute!! Love the dangly tassle things 😀 The poor guard!! He looks so huge and stiff. Hehe, is he allowed to move?

@ tezuka:yes, he can move and talk as well. I asked him direction. After a certain period he will move about (for blood circulation I guess), but in the army type. So far, all of them are good-looking, haha.
The boots are cute and quite childish, in contrast with the black and brown boots normally worn by adults, but nevermind, I like it. Btw, it’s quite troublesome to put on the boots though.
@Văn: buildings nowaday are built to be demolished since sadly people are more fancy of new/innovative ideas, and less loyaltly in a sense. New=good.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • renee garrison: How can I purchase a print of piggybackride?
  • Sharrin Mass Miller: Our group is looking forward to a tour of your Gallery in Midway on Wednesday January 12th arranged by Sunny Reinhold (435) 671-6996 I am preparing a
  • passer-by: hi danthuy, i will be taking this module sf2950 in kth when i go for my exchange next yr..is the module v hard? from the course description, it sounds

Categories