For memory’s sake

Out of sight, out of mind

Posted on: October 25, 2008

Time passes by, seeing me getting further from certain people who used to be close. Busy life makes months as short as weeks, weeks as fast as hours and hours is just a matter of a blink. Suddenly I find myself speaking totally differently to them, solely hi-by conversations and before I can realise, we have nothing left to say, feeling odd. Like any dishes without salt, the talks just turn out tasteless. We both ask things we never asked each other before and only give politically correct answers, which was never the case back then. What left in me after these conversations is just emptiness, regretfulness and some thoughts of how people moving away from each other unawarely.

That shows how much important consistent communication is. It takes efforts to maintain relationship-useful communication. A “hi!” definitely does not help. Out of sight, out of touch, I’m no longer informed regularly about what the others do or how the persons are doing. Obviously, it is hard to be caring without sufficient “data input”. One day, one week not seeing each other, feel weird but then “I’m busy”. Another week followed by some other months, I get accustomed to it and my mind is filled up with other things. I doubt is there exist something irreplaceble.

Degree of relationship closeness does play a very crucial role in determining how fast you wipe off the persons’ position in you. Yet, I guess there are many other crucial events/things/persons surrounding us.

Once again, the only certainty is uncertainty in this world of changing. Maybe an apathetic attitude suits best since there’s no point being overenthusiastic about something if I know it will definitely leave me someday.

2 Responses to "Out of sight, out of mind"

Hey roomie!! This is the first time I’m commenting here…yeah, you’re so right! Effort is so important in maintaining relationships…and it’s so sad when a close relationship fades to hi-bye…

Still maybe it’s good to enjoy and be enthusiastic about things as they are! It’s the present that is important…the future is unpredictable…

I do like the way you write, it’s very descriptive and full of feeling!!

Oohh, someone is commenting on my blog!!! You’re the first to leave something here (besides me :)).
Yes, you’re right. It’s present that matter and one should live up to what he has. Yet, sometimes we just can’t help but think pessimistically how things will change…Hope for the better.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • renee garrison: How can I purchase a print of piggybackride?
  • Sharrin Mass Miller: Our group is looking forward to a tour of your Gallery in Midway on Wednesday January 12th arranged by Sunny Reinhold (435) 671-6996 I am preparing a
  • passer-by: hi danthuy, i will be taking this module sf2950 in kth when i go for my exchange next yr..is the module v hard? from the course description, it sounds

Categories